Accepted an Offer, BUT SCARED

Discussion in 'New Teachers' started by Dalila, May 26, 2019.

1. Dalila

Dalila Rookie

May 26, 2019

Hello! So I have been substitute teaching for a year and I interviewed for a position this last Monday and well they offered me a position! It’s for 4th grade and it’s a charter school. However now I’m second guessing it since I have also been a stay at home mom for the past 3 years after college. I graduated and have 2 children. I feel like I know NOTHING. I am being hired without my credentials, my CSETS... and I am so humbled just extremely afraid. Even though I’ve talked to my husband I feel he doesn’t understand how afraid I am over this. I had a cousin give me “advice” he’s a school counselor and he told me “ get comfortable with the uncomfortable” so my husband basically recants this mantra and I feel like I’m drowing already. The school district is great just it’s in a town I do not really know + fairly new. I don’t know I guess part of me wants some one to scream at me saying if you’re not prepared or feel ready don’t do it but then again when will I truly go for it? I don’t know help?? ( excuse any run on sentences, grammar errors etc writing this whilst shaking)

3. swansong1

swansong1 Virtuoso

May 26, 2019

The first thing you need to do is take a deep breath and don't listen to unsolicited advice from outsiders.

The next thing you need to do is enjoy your summer while you prepare for your classroom. Get as much information as you can from the school and other teachers in the school...curriculum, academic pacing guides, grade level requirements, etc.You have plenty of time over the next couple of months to prepare your class management plans, activities, etc.

You are feeling the nervousness that any new teacher feels. Your administration knows this and will help you. Find out if they are going to give you a mentor. If so, maybe you can meet with thie teacher over the summer.

Good luck and enjoy this new adventure!!