9th grade to 5th grade....help!

Discussion in 'Fifth Grade' started by Cme10, Jul 15, 2014.

1. Cme10

Cme10 Rookie

Jul 15, 2014

Okay...so here I am a second year teacher and moving from teaching 9th grade English to 5th grade. I need some help from those of you who have taught 5th grade or have experience in general with elementary school.

But first - some back story.

I have a dual degree BA in Elementary Education and Exceptional Education. I have the ESOL endorsement, 1/2 way through my reading endorsement and also have another certification to teach English grades 6-12. (Living in Florida currently.) Year before last I worked at the high school I graduated from in the guidance office, learning about how high school worked, taking advice and lessons from my own teachers and really discovering that I liked high school, which was a shock especially since when I went to school for education classes high school was the last place I thought I would be. I ended up seeking a teaching position at the end of the year but it was not meant to be and so I went and applied at other schools in counties close by.

Last year I began teaching late - almost three months into the school year. There was an overflow of student enrollment at a school in the county next to mine. I applied and received the position on the condition that I would also teach Read180 and go through the process to receive the reading endorsement. Which I happily agreed to and went about the arduous task of teaching my first year.

Like many first year teachers I had many challenges. We had a high suspension/withdraw rate from discipline and I quickly found out that supplies were something I was going to have to pay for out of my own pocket. In addition to having to buy supplies not only for my classroom but half my students I quickly found out that my students were struggling with even the most basic concepts.