5th Grade Reading Demo Lesson

Discussion in 'General Education' started by lojomom, Apr 12, 2018.

1. lojomom

lojomom New Member

Apr 12, 2018

So the good news I have been invited in for a 5th grade interview and demo lesson. New teacher, so this is my first interview or demo lesson. However, I was a returning older student and this is the district I have been praying for! Only parameters I have been given is that I need a 20 minute lesson pertaining to reading where I will have approximately 25 students. It will be immediately following their recess and lunch =( I originally had considered inferencing, theme, POV/perspective, poetry. My general idea is ...I immediately thought after lunch...dessert. teach theme as the creme filling in a cupcake. Prepare an anchor chart and reference to theme as the creme in the center of a cupcake. Making the connection that we don't know what the theme is until we get inside the book to the good stuff "the message". What is this book really about?

Have a variety of picture books available, split them into small groups where they read a book and try to determine the filling or creme inside the cupcake..what this book is really about. Bring back in large group to share their themes. This is a very simplistic first idea but I like the use of visuals for connections and group discourse.
    What feed back do you have or any 5th grade reading demo ideas you may have??
    I am concerned with 20 minutes they may not be able to read the books and write a theme in the alloted time, however not too familiar with 5th so I could be wrong.

Also wondering on an exit ticket (considered a post it- what is theme in your own words? What advise do you have for a new teacher?) and differentiation. Any and all ideas appreciated. New grad hoping to land my dream job

3. Obadiah

Obadiah Devotee

Apr 13, 2018