5th grade ideas for behavior management

Discussion in 'Behavior Management' started by 4myclass, Jun 2, 2007.

1. 4myclass

4myclass Cohort

Jun 2, 2007

I'm new to 5th grade. What works best at this age? I'm used to Pre-K where I used sticks for each student and moved them for not following rules from "happy cup" to "straight face cup" to "sad cup". At the end of the day, if a student was in "happy cup":) , they earned a sticker for their behavior chart. When the sticker was full, they got to get into my treasure box.
    Would this type of system work for 5th? I don't know.
    Please, if you work with this age group, let me know what works for your class.

3. ChangeAgent

ChangeAgent Comrade

Jun 2, 2007

I just student taught for seven weeks in a sixth grade inner city school. The students were not dangerous (as some inner city schools may be--just saw a news of a third student death this school year due to guns/gangs in Chicago), but unruly and confrontational toward one another.

I used a whole-class behavior management system. Granted, I was student teaching, so I had to capitalize on time, since I did not have much of it.

I gave them a "Challenge." Each day, they could earn up to either one or two points. The points gathered day after day. Once they reached 10 points, we'd watch a part of a movie and have a snack. Tangibles work--as undesirably as extrinsic motivation seems to be.

I had three classes, so each class had a small box drawn on the dry-erase board with the homeroom number and the total points they earned.

Beneath that, I wrote numbers 6 down through 1 (six on the left, one on the right).

The Rules of the Challenge:
    - Keep at least a 3
    --Whenever the class as a whole got unruly (it could not be the fault of just one or two students), I would erase a number, starting with 6. If, at the end of the 90-minute block, there was still a three on the board, the class would get a point.
    --This focused on behavior