5th grade homework

Discussion in 'Fifth Grade' started by Bloom, Jul 17, 2007.

1. Bloom

Bloom Companion

Jul 17, 2007

What is an acceptable number of pages to expect a student to read and comprehend for a homework assignment in 5th grade Language Arts. I have a 48 page book on the life of Langston Hughes I am interested in developing a lesson/unit plan on and am curious as to what is a good number of pages to read a night. I was thinking of having the book finished in 3 days/night (with one day of in class out loud reading) and testing at the end of the week.

If you haven't figured out...I am a student and not experienced in this stuff!

HELP!

3. shasha379

shasha379 Devotee

Jul 17, 2007

I guess it would depend on the student. I had a few students last year who could have read the entire book in one night, with great comprehension. On the other hand I also had students who would have probably struggled with reading and comprehending 5-10 pages. What grade level is the book? Nonfiction is usually slightly above whatever gradel evel it states.(for instance if it says 5.0 it maybe somewhere around a 7.0). You really need to consider the reading levels of all of your students, or you may only want to assign this to students with a higher reading level.

4. Bloom

Bloom Companion

Jul 17, 2007

Shasha,

If memory serves me right (can't find the site) it was from 3-6 grade. I was thinking of assigning 20 pages the first night, reading about 10 page in class together and then the last 18 the third night.

I am not currently a teacher, and my son (who is going into 9th) always reads way more than the required work....and is my basis for student reading levels (he is not a great student, but loves to read!). It is so hard for me to create this stuff in a vacuum without knowing the students. So I suppose I am looking for a general idea. Do you think 20 pages is too much based on other classes homework and reading levels?

5. shasha379

shasha379 Devotee

Jul 17, 2007