1st week activities-Autism class-Help!?!

Discussion in 'Special Education' started by elizabeth, Sep 11, 2010.

1. elizabeth

elizabeth Rookie

Sep 11, 2010

Hello! I am a new teacher with 6 Kindergartners with Autism at various learning and behavior levels. They, too, are "new" to this school and each other. Our first day was extremely stressful for all, and I believe my planning was one area lacking. Any ideas for intro activities/"about me" activities/new school themes? Or, strategies for introducing children to a new school?

Many thanks, in advance.

3. bethechange

bethechange Comrade

Sep 11, 2010

Hi Elizabeth,

I taught a kinder autism class (now have the same kids in elementary 1-4th grade) for 3 years and I definitely know how hard it can be, especially the first week! The good news is, with consistancy, patience, and a good routine, the kids can really shine!

Are all your kids self-contained? Or do you have some going out to general education for parts of the day? If you do have kids in gen ed, I found it very helpful to meet weekly with the gen ed teacher to discuss upcoming lesson plans, behavior issues, schedule changes, etc. so I could prepare my kids and staff, as well as reinforce things that were happening in general ed classroom. I also tried hard to identify which parts of the day the kids liked and were successful at for them to join. We made visual rules for them, a behavior chart (penny board) and reinforced HUGELY for good behavior, and adding more time slowly.