1st day Ice Breakers

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by math2010s, Jul 3, 2011.

1. math2010s

math2010s Rookie

Jul 3, 2011

I am a new math teacher and I am trying to figure out what 1st day ice breakers/activities are really fun for middle schoolers. Some of my classes will have as few as 10 students and others will have around 25 students, so I guess I'll need two different activities due to the number of students. The typical ice breaker seems to be a scavenger hunt where kids walk around gathering signatures based upon questions. This is fine, but it just seems so "typical". Does anyone have any other suggestions? Thank you!!

3. The Fonz

The Fonz Math teacher (for now...)

Jul 3, 2011

this isn't quite what you were asking for, but in my opinion, i spend the first day going over rules, not doing ice breakers.

I know each teacher has their own style, but i feel using that first day to make the rules and expectations clear shows the students what i am expecting.

I hand out the syllabus (I teach high school, I wouldn't do that for middle school) go over it, then hand out a contract with the rules and grading policy clearly stated and have them sign it and make their parents sign it.

4. chebrutta

chebrutta Fanatic

Jul 4, 2011

I have the kids introduce themselves to me. They have a few minutes to think about my questions, then they have to stand up and say them to the class. Usual questions are:

Name?
    Age?
    Favorite subject & why?
    Least favorite subject & why?
    Hobbies?
    Most interesting scar? (Or something equally silly to break the ice and boring-ness).

After this, I get down into an activity - either a scavenger hunt based on the classroom rules or a learning activity (my P doesn't like us to do rules on the first day - he likes us to jump into curriculum).

5. Aliceacc

Aliceacc Multitudinous

Jul 4, 2011

I don't do icebreakers either.

I do 10 minutes on my expectations and then I teach and assign homework.

6. mopar